Reading Habits

Reading is a very important part of everyday human life, but not everyone reads the same. Where you read, if you listen to music while you read, and why you read are all different for each person. I read best in a calming and comfy environment. The atmosphere where I’m reading is very important to me, I don’t enjoy reading in a loud crowded plane as much as I would have at an overgrown creek with cool autumn air drifting past me. I also read best when listening to music. It helps me focus better on what I’m doing and helps block out distractions. I also like to eat while I read. Especially if it’s a comfort food. If all of these things are happening at once, I read best.

I read pretty often and I’ve always enjoyed reading, ever since I learned how. I was always at a higher reading level than average, and I pride myself on it. I consider myself to be a good reader because I’m very fluent and read books easily and quickly while still being able to grasp what the book is about. There are lots of other people out in the world who are better readers than me. Most people who have reading as a hobby mark pages with color-coded notes whenever something important happens in their book and sometimes also annotate pages. I don’t like doing that, but it’s great that some people do.

My favorite individual book is Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe, originally published on April 25th, 1719. I read it for the first time in first grade and it’s about a man named Robinson Crusoe who always dreamed about sailing the seas and one day, runs away from home and sails on a boat, then gets captured by pirates and becomes a slave for a few years. He eventually escapes to an island and is stuck there for many, MANY years. I enjoy this book because it’s a classic and is one of the first longer books that I’ve read. I re-read it every so often when bored and always enjoy it. What’syour favorite book? Answer down in the comments below.

1 comment for “Reading Habits

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *