Camp Kirkwood


₊˚⊹ִ ࣪𖤐⋆˙⟡♡

Even though the rough Hurricane Idaila was nearing towards us, the 6th graders of Durham Academy were piling onto the buses that were going to take us to Camp Kirkwood. When we arrived, it was already raining down. We quickly gathered our stuff and put it under this big shelter. So far, things weren’t looking good. Later on in the day, we went out to do activities, such as team building. Although it was still raining down, we spent an hour out in the rain running around on wet grass and playing games. We later learned we were the only team building group that did that, everyone else got to be inside and dry playing games. These games consisted of a game where everyone held hands with someone random across from them, and then had to untangle themselves. Another game was where there were two people protecting another person, and everyone else had to attack them with balls. The goal was to tag or hit with a ball the person being protected.


The next morning we woke and started another day of fun. Thankfully, it only rained for half the day!! We did different activities spread throughout the next day in a half such as canoeing, the zip line, the v-swing, and the kanga jump, which resulted in a lot of sandy and wet socks. Also about the kanga jump, I slipped on it because it was wet, and now I have a permanent scar. Thanks a lot. 

Along with a lot of other people, my favorite activity was the v-swing. Basically, the v-swing in a rope that people pull on and bring you about 30 feet up in the air. Once high up, you can yank a rope towards you and you fall and swing in the air. It’s kind of like bungee jumping in a way. For most people, its scary when you drop, but then it became fun. My memory is absolutely trash so I can’t remember anything to save my life, therefore as soon as I started soaring, I forgot how I felt. I’m pretty sure I wasn’t that scared though.

Overall, camp was alright, and mostly everyone else had a good time, so that’s good. Thank you to the Camp Kirkwood staff for giving us a fun time at camp!

1 comment for “Camp Kirkwood

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *